Tobacco products are addictive and have many serious and detrimental effects on health. For this reason, the sale of tobacco products is strictly regulated, and there are laws prohibiting tobacco sales to minors. As a tobacco sales associate in the state of California, it is your responsibility to understand the consequences of tobacco use, so you can better implement tobacco laws. Ensure that your store stays in compliance by checking identification and, if necessary, refusing a tobacco sale Effective June 9, 2016, the state of California prohibits the sale of tobacco products to individuals under the age of 21. Military personnel are exempt from this law and can still purchase tobacco products at the age of 18 and older. The Institute has created a course to meet the new California law. Please visit our catalog to take this course. Duration: 1 hour 45 minutes
This course is designed for food retailers who sell alcohol in the state of Montana. Alcohol sales are strictly regulated, so associates will occasionally have to refuse a sale to a minor or a person who is intoxicated. Additionally, this course explains the effect alcohol has on behavior, defines blood alcohol content, classifies legal forms of identification and discusses what to do with fake IDs. * In order to receive certification for the State of Montana, you must enter your Date of Birth in your student profile. Course Duration: 3 hours During the 2011 Legislative session the Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service Act was passed which makes alcohol server training mandatory in the state of Montana. Students who complete the Alcohol Sales Awareness – Montana Certified course receive the Institute’s certification of training, which is valid and approved by the State of Montana. However it requires each user to have their date of birth in their online training account, next to their name. Please click here, to verify an individual’s alcohol server/seller training record by entering the person’s name (first and last) and their date of birth. If the person has valid training, you may print a training verification. Feel free to contact the Institute at 773-695-2611 or click here if you have any questions regarding this process. For more information, click here.
This is a basic Food Safety training course for food handlers, compliant with the requirements of Texas, Arizona, Illinois, California and Florida. Persons who successfully pass the training and test will receive a certificate. To assist you in meeting these new state regulations, we have partnered with the National Registry of Food Safety Professionals (NRFSP) to bring you the Food Handler Compliance course. The course is ANSI accredited, it is nationally recognized in all 50 states and reflects the 2013 FDA Food Code. The NRFSP develops and maintains certification examination programs for the food safety profession. It is recognized internationally by the food service industry for its examinations and service delivery standards and practices. Since this service is provided by the NRFSP, there is a charge of $10 per student, payable online with a credit card. Please note that this is a discounted price from the regular pricing of $12.95. The fee covers the students to the access course, testing and certificate program. Students have 30 days from the registration date to complete the course. Course Duration: 1 hour 30 mins Below is some general information about the course: Depending on internet speed the course takes about 5-7 minutes to download. Duration of the course ranges from 1 to 2 hours to complete. There are 4 parts to the course. And all slides must be viewed before taking the assessment. In order to complete the course you must pass a 40-question assessment with a minimum score of 70%. You can review the course and retake the assessment as many times as needed to achieve the 70% passing score within the 30 day timeframe.Upon successful completion of the assessment, you must fill out the [...]
This course is approved and certified by New York State (NYS). It meets an eight hour education requirement in accordance with NYS Agriculture and Markets Law Part 271 §251-Z-12. After completing this course, you will understand the preventative measures you must take as a food handler. New York Food Safety and Sanitation - FP00040 Training Topics: Introduction to Food Safety and Sanitation Food Safety Hazards Keys to Preventing Foodborne Illness The Flow of Food Sanitation Programs and Regulations Course Duration: 8 hours For more information, click here.
This course has been reviewed by the New York State (NYS) Department of Health. It has been accepted as a NYS Certified Tobacco Sales Training Program. The Institute's provider number is 083-1007. After completing this course, you will understand the health effects of tobacco and the laws of New York State, as well as when and how to refuse sales. Tobacco Law Compliance - New York State Certified Training Topics: Health Effects of Tobacco New York State Law The Consumer Course Duration: 2 hours 31 mins For more information, click here.
This is the second in a two-course WIC curriculum. This course focuses on the WIC compliance needs of owners and bookkeepers, and educates retailers on how to run a successful and compliant WIC program. In order to better serve your WIC consumers, you must follow proper procedures to ensure continued benefits. This includes knowing how to properly process WIC checks, ordering the minimum WIC stock requirements and complying with your WIC contract. WIC Administrative Procedures Training Topics: Cashing WIC Checks Business Operations Contract Compliance Course Duration: 1 hour
The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) provides nutritious foods (primarily through retail grocery stores), nutrition counseling and referrals to health care and social services. WIC serves low-income pregnant, postpartum and breastfeeding women, infants and children up to age five who are at nutritional risk. Nearly 8.7 million people get WIC benefits each month. Please note that this course is a generalized version of WIC cashier training. Refer to your store guidelines on correct terminology and appropriate state regulated policies. WIC Cashier Basics Training Topics: The WIC Program WIC Transactions Course Duration: 1 hour